Constitution of the Republic of Texas (1836)

 Previous  Next


SEC. 1. The Executive authority of this Government shall be vested in a chief magistrate, who shall be styled The President of the Republic of Texas.

SEC. 2. The first President elected by the People shall hold his office for the term of two years, and shall be ineligible during the next succeeding term; and all subsequent Presidents shall be elected for three years, and be alike ineligible; and in the event of a tie, the House of Representatives shall determine between the two highest candidates by viva voce vote.

SEC. 3. The returns of the elections for President and Vice President shall be sealed up and transmitted to the Speaker of the House of Representatives, by the holders of elections of each county; and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall open and publish the returns, in presence of a majority of each House of Congress.