Constitution of Texas (1845) (Joining the U.S.)

 Previous  Next



SEC. 1. The power of impeachment shall be vested in the House of Representatives.

SEC. 2. Impeachments of the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, secretary of state, treasurer, comptroller, and of the judges of the district courts, shall be tried by the Senate.

SEC. 3. Impeachments of judges of the supreme court shall be tried by the Senate. When sitting as a court of impeachment the senators shall be upon oath or affirmation; and no person shall be convicted without the concurrence of two-thirds of the senators present.

SEC. 4. Judgment, in cases of impeachment, shall extend only to removal from office, and disqualification from holding any office of honor, trust, or profit, under this State; but the parties convicted shall, nevertheless, be subject to indictment, trial, and punishment according to law.

SEC. 5. All officers against whom articles of impeachment may be preferred, shall be suspended from the exercise of the duties of their office during the pendency of such impeachment. The appointing power may make a provisional appointment to fill the vacancy occasioned by the suspension of an officer, until the decision on the impeachment.

SEC. 6. The legislature shall provide for the trial, punishment, and removal from office, of all other officers of the State, by indictment or otherwise.